The books of the New Testament

In the New King James Version of the Bible the New Testament can be divided into the same categories as the Old Testament.


The five historical books are:

The gospel according to Matthew

The gospel according to Mark

The gospel according to Luke

The gospel according to John

The Acts of the Apostles


The 21 doctrinal books are:

The epistle of Paul to the Romans

The two epistles of Paul to the Corinthians

The epistle of Paul to the Galatians

The epistle of Paul to the Ephesians

The epistle of Paul to the Philippians

The epistle of Paul to the Colossians

The two epistles of Paul to the Thessalonians

The two epistles of Paul to Timothy

The epistle of Paul to Titus

The epistle of Paul to Philemon

The epistle to the Hebrews

The epistle of James

The two epistles of Peter

The three epistles of John

The epistle of Jude


The prophetical book is:

The Revelation of Jesus Christ (Apocalypse)


The author of Holy Scripture is God. Its writers were human beings whom the Holy Spirit inspired. In style and form of expression the books of the Bible bear the mark of their respective writers and their perceptions of the world. (1.2 →)


Holy Scripture is a testimony of God's revelation, although it is not a complete account of all of God's deeds. (1.2 →)


The Bible–that is Holy Scripture–is comprised of the Old and New Testaments. Both parts testify of God's plan of salvation for mankind and are thus linked to one another. (1.2.1 →)

The Christian canon of the Old Testament is based upon the Hebrew canon. The Old Testament consists of seventeen historical books, five doctrinal books, and seventeen prophetical books. ( → →)


In terms of content, the fifteen later writings of the Old Testament (Apocrypha) comprise an important link between the Old and New Testament Scriptures, and are just as binding for faith and doctrine as the other books of the Old Testament canon. (1.2.3 →)


The New Testament contains records of the mission and activity of Jesus and His Apostles. The 27 books of the New Testament have been considered binding (canonical) since the fourth century. The New Testament consists of five historical books, 21 doctrinal books, and one prophetical book. (1.2.4 → → →)