7.6 The ministries in the New Apostolic Church

From its beginnings, the New Apostolic Church has understood itself as a church of ministry. It is a church that is led by the apostolate.


All other ministries come forth out of the Apostle ministry. Concerning this, the Fifth Article of Faith states: "I believe that those designated by God for a ministry are ordained only by Apostles, and that authority, blessing, and sanctification for their ministration come forth out of the Apostle ministry."


Today there are three levels of ministry, each with different spiritual powers, in the New Apostolic Church:


the Apostle ministry

Chief Apostle, District Apostle, and Apostle;


the priestly ministry

Bishop, District Elder, District Evangelist, Shepherd, Evangelist, and Priest;


the diaconal ministry

Deacon and Sub-deacon.